National Centre of Competence in Research PlanetS
Sidlerstrasse 5 | CH-3012 Bern | Switzerland
  Tel. +41 (0)31 631 32 39
Fax. +41 (0)31 631 44 05

La fascination des mondes extraterrestres – Bienvenue chez PRN PlanetS

Using the ultra-precise HARPS spectrograph on ESO's 3.6-m telescope at La Silla (Chile), a team of European astronomers have discovered that a nearby star is host to three Neptune-mass planets. The innermost planet is most probably rocky, while the outermost is the first known Neptune-mass planet to reside in the habitable zone. This unique system is likely further enriched by an asteroid belt. This view portaits a point of view inside the asteroid belt, which is assumed here to lie between the two outermost planets.

Scientifiques suisses du PRN PlanetS travaillent à percer les secrets de mondes extraterrestres dans et en dehors de notre système solaire. Sur ce site, vous aurez un aperçu de leurs activités.

 

 

Exoplanètes – des mondes en dehors de notre système solaire

Depuis des millénaires, les êtres humains ont levé les yeux vers le ciel nocturne et ont voulu percer le mystère des étoiles. Aujourd’hui nous savons que notre Voie Lactée contient à elle seule 100 milliards d’étoiles comme notre Soleil – Certaines sont plus grandes, d’autres plus petites. Les planètes tournent autour de leur étoile tout comme la Terre tourne autour du Soleil. Avant 1995, les seules planètes que nous connaissions étaient celles de notre système solaire: Mercure, Vénus, Terre, Mars, Jupiter, Saturne, Uranus et Neptune. Depuis la découverte de la planète 51 Pegasi b, nous savons que d’autres étoiles possèdent des planètes. Les planètes en dehors de notre système solaire sont appelées planètes extrasolaires, ou exoplanètes. Les chercheurs en ont déjà découvert plus de 2000 et ceci dans une toute petite partie de notre galaxie. Cela implique que le nombre de planètes dans la Voie Lactée et à fortiori dans l’univers est incroyablement grand.

 

51 Pegasi b – découverte en 1995 par des astronomes suisses

Deux astronomes suisses, Michel Mayor et Didier Queloz, ont découvert la première exoplanète autour d’une étoile semblable au Soleil le 6 Octobre 1995. La planète est appelée 51 Pegasi b parce qu’elle orbite autour de l’étoile 51 de la constellation de Pégase. La planète ne peut pas être vue directement car elle est trop éloignée et trop peu lumineuse par rapport à son étoile. Elle a été découverte en utilisant une méthode indirecte – la mesure de la petite oscillation de l’étoile provoquée par la présence de la planète. Certaines autres exoplanètes peuvent également être détectées par la mini-éclipse qu’elles provoquent lorsqu’elles passent devant leur étoile.

 

Planètes – la recherche suisse leader mondiale

Dès le début de leurs détections, les universités suisses ont joué un rôle prépondérant dans la recherche sur les exoplanètes. En 2014, le Fond National de la Recherche Scientifique a lancé le Pôle de Recherche National PlanetS pour promouvoir la recherche dans ce domaine émergent important. Dirigé par les Universités de Berne et de Genève, incluant les deux EPF de Zürich et Lausanne et l’Université de Zurich, l’objectif de PlanetS est de comprendre comment les planètes se forment, quelles sont leurs propriétés et d’identifier celles propices à la vie. Pour cela il est nécessaire d’étudier les météorites en laboratoire, d’explorer le système solaire, de faire des mesures astronomique depuis le sol et l’espace, ainsi que de développer des modèles numérique de la formation et de l’évolution des planètes.

 

Video clips

Clip 1: La découverte de la première exoplanète

Clip 2: Visite du laboratoire d’essai de CHEOPS à Berne

Clip 3: CHEOPS: Première mission de l’ESA sous direction suisse

 

 

Les images 3D de la colonne

Have a look at the 3D pictures you can find on the pillar:

IC_1396 Cliquez sur l’image pour l’agrandir

La nébuleuse IC 1396A est formée par une concentration de gaz et de poussières interstellaires. C’est un lieu supposé de formation stellaire. La nébuleuse est située dans la constellation de Céphée a environ 2400 années lumière de la Terre.

Victoria_Crater Cliquez sur l’image pour l’agrandir

Le cratère Victoria sur la planète Mars, ici photographié par la sonde Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter, mesure 730 mètres de large et 70 mètres de profondeur. Le rover Mars Opportunity a exploré ce cratère de près.

 

3D-Brille

Pour voir les images 3D à la maison s’il vous plaît utiliser des lunettes 3D ordinaires.

 

Plus d’informations sur télescope spatial CHEOPS

CHEOPS

 

Comments are closed.

National Centre of Competence in Research PlanetS
Gesellschaftsstrasse 6 | CH-3012 Bern | Switzerland
  Tel. +41 (0)31 631 32 39

The fascination of alien worlds – Welcome to the NCCR PlanetS

Using the ultra-precise HARPS spectrograph on ESO's 3.6-m telescope at La Silla (Chile), a team of European astronomers have discovered that a nearby star is host to three Neptune-mass planets. The innermost planet is most probably rocky, while the outermost is the first known Neptune-mass planet to reside in the habitable zone. This unique system is likely further enriched by an asteroid belt. This view portaits a point of view inside the asteroid belt, which is assumed here to lie between the two outermost planets.

Swiss researchers of the NCCR Planets are working to unlock the secrets of alien worlds in and outside our solar system. On this website you will get an insight into their activities.

 

 

Exoplanets – alien worlds outside our Solar System

For millennia, people have looked up at the night sky and wondered about the stars and even speculated about the existence of other worlds. Today we know that our galaxy, the Milky Way, alone contains 100 billion stars – like our Sun. Some are larger, some smaller. Planets orbit their star just as the Earth orbits the Sun. Before 1995, the only planets we knew were those in our Solar System: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Since the discovery of the planet 51 Pegasi b, we know that many other stars have planets as well. Planets outside our Solar System are called extrasolar planets, or exoplanets. Researchers have already discovered over 2,000 exoplanets orbiting stars in just a small part of our Galaxy. This implies that the number of planets in the Milky Way must be very large.

 

51 Pegasi b – discovered in 1995 by Swiss astronomers

Two Swiss astronomers, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz, announced the discovery of the first exoplanet orbiting a Sun-like star on 6 October 1995. The planet is called 51 Pegasi b. It orbits star number 51 in the constellation Pegasus. The planet cannot be seen directly because it is too far away and it is too dim compared to its host star. It was discovered using an indirect method – measuring the tiny wobble of the star induced by the presence of the planet. Some other exoplanets can be detected by the mini-eclipse they cause when they pass in front of their star.

 

Planets – Swiss research at the forefront

From the beginning Swiss universities have been key contributors towards exoplanet science. In 2014, the Swiss National Science Foundation launched the NCCR PlanetS to further promote discovery in this important field. Led by the Universities of Bern and Geneva, including the two ETHs in Zurich and Lausanne and the University of Zurich, the goal of PlanetS is to determine how planets form as well as their physical and chemical properties defining where life might be possible. This requires laboratory studies of meteorites, the exploration of the solar system, astronomical observations from the ground and from space, as well as the developments of models of planet formation and evolution.

 

Video clips

Clip 1: The Discovery of the First Exoplanet

Clip 2: Visit the CHEOPS Test Lab in Bern

Clip 3: CHEOPS: the First Swiss-led ESA Mission

 

 

The 3D pictures from the pillar

Have a look at the 3D pictures you can find on the pillar:

IC_1396 Click on picture to enlarge

The nebula IC 1396A a concentration of interstellar gas and dust. It is thought to be a site of star formation. The nebula is located in the constellation Cepheus and is approximately 2,400 light years from Earth.

Victoria_Crater Click on picture to enlarge

The Victoria Crater on the planet Mars, photographed by the spacecraft Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter, is 730 meters wide and 70 meters deep. The Mars Rover Opportunity has examined the crater at close range.

 

3D-Brille

To view the 3D pictures at home please use common 3D glasses.

 

Learn more about the space telescope CHEOPS

CHEOPS

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.